inscribed signed with monogram and dated " Biarritz view from H. d' Angleterre. / E.T.L. 1878 "
The Fishermen Port ("Port des Pêcheurs" in French) was built in 1780 for inshore fishermen. Today, most of the fishermen are gone and what is left is a little port mainly visited by tourists.At the foot of Ste Eugenie church, between the Grande Plage and the rocher de la vierge the port des pecheurs is part of the old town of Biarritz. Its "crampottes", little houses constructed on the back face in the cliff, are still used by fishermen while others have Restaurants and Diving schools.
According to an 1883 travel book:
Biarritz is a small but picturesque town, which was brought much into notice by the Empress Eugenie, who used to reside there every year. It is distinguished for its very selected society, which assembles both for sea bathing and the winter season. The scenery is beautiful, although the vegetation in the immediate environs of the town is rather scanty. The town is built like an amphitheatre on the rising cliffs of the Pyrenees, and has some fine modern buildings, of which the Villa Eugenie is one of the most striking.